Academics

Academic Calendar

FALL 2014 SEMESTER

 

June 2 Monday International Student Application Deadline
June 28 Saturday New Student/Parent Summer Orientation
July 11 Friday All official transcripts due for August enrollment (Admissions Office)
July 12 Saturday COMPASS Testing 8:00 a.m. – 12 noon ONLY
July 14-24 Monday-Thursday ON-GOING COMPASS TESTING
August 1 Friday New Adjunct and Faculty Orientation
August 4 Monday Housing Application Deadline (Fall Semester)

 

August 4 Monday All Faculty Report- Faculty & Staff Institute
August 5 Wednesday Faculty Institute
August 5 Tuesday Residence Halls Open – First Time Freshmen/Transfers
August 6 Wednesday First Time Freshmen Testing (COMPASS) 9 – 12pm& 1pm – 4pm

Gibbs 206, Flipper Library & Gibbs 107, B1

August 1-2 Friday-Saturday UNV101 – Block Students Only
August 9 Saturday Returning Students Arrive
August 8-9 Friday-Saturday Block I Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
August 12 Tuesday Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin for Traditional Students
August 13 Wednesday Late Registration – Traditional Students   ($50.00 fee)
August 16 Saturday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop Class – Block I ONLY
August 23 Saturday Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty – Block I ONLY
    Block I Midterms
August 27 Wednesday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop for Fall Semester
August 28 Thursday No shows will be administratively withdrawn from all classes
September 1 Monday Labor Day
Classes Suspended
Offices and Library Closed
September 2 Tuesday Classes Resume
September 4 Thursday Fall Convocation (All Faculty/Staff/Students)
September 5 Friday Coronation
August 29-30 Friday-Saturday Block I Course Evaluations
September 12-13 Saturday Block I – Final Examinations
September 16 Tuesday Block I Grades entered into Self Service by 12:00 p.m.
September 19-20 Friday-Saturday Block II Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
September 26-27 Saturday Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty – Block II ONLY

Block II Midterms

September 26 Friday Academic Affairs Annual Planning
September 19-20 Saturday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop Class – Block II ONLY
September 29 Monday Apply for December Graduation
October 3 Friday Administrative Annual Planning (Non Academic Units)
October 3 Friday Fall 2014 Master Schedule due to Registrar’s Office
October 3-4 Friday-Saturday Block II Course Evaluations
October 6-10 Monday-Friday Mid-Semester Examinations – NO EXTRA CURRICULAR
October 9 Thursday Last Day to Submit Grade Changes for Spring 2013

Last Day for Removing Incomplete (I) Grades for Spring 2014

October 10 Friday Residence Hall closes at 6:00 p.m.
October 17-18 Saturday Block II Final Examination
October 13-14 Monday-Tuesday Fall Break
    Classes Suspended
    Offices and Library Closed – Staff Fall Break
October 14 Residence Hal Residence Hall opens at 12:00 p.m.
October 22 Wednesday Block II Grades entered into Self Service by 12:00 p.m.
October 15 Wednesday Mid-term grades are due
October 15 Wednesday Classes resume and Offices and Library are Open
October 17 Friday Last Day to withdraw from class without GPA penalty – Traditional Students
     
October 21 Tuesday Academic Awards Ceremony at 11:00 a.m. in the Gymnatorium
October 20-25 Monday-Saturday Institutional Assessments (General Education, Major Field—-No Extracurricular Activities
October 23 Thursday DECLARE or CHANGE your Major Day
October 31-November 1 Friday-

Saturday

Block III Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
November 7-8 Friday-

Saturday

Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty – Block III ONLY

Block III Midterms

November 14-15 Friday-Saturday Block III Course Evaluations
November 2-8 Sunday-Saturday Homecoming Week
November 4 Tuesday Advisement/ Registration for Spring 2015
    Spring Book Orders Due
November 24 Monday Last day for Activities
November 25 Tuesday Residence Halls close at 6:00 p.m.
November 26-29 Wednesday-Saturday Thanksgiving Holiday
All Classes Suspended /Block III
Offices and Library Closed
November 30 Sunday Residence Halls open at 12:00 p.m.
December 1 Monday Classes Resume
  Monday All official transcripts due for January enrollment (Admissions Office)
December 1-6 Monday-Saturday Pre-Examination Week (No Extracurricular Activities, No C.A.R.S.)
December 8-13 Monday-Saturday Final Examination for Traditional/Block III
December 12 Friday Residence Halls close at 6:00 p.m.

Last Day of Class

December 16 Tuesday Grades entered into Self Service by 12:00 p.m.
December 17 Wednesday Last Day for Faculty at 5:00 p.m.

 

SPRING 2015 SEMESTER

 

January 2-3 Friday-Saturday Block IV Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
January 4 Sunday Returning Students Arrive after 12:00pm
January 5 Monday Faculty/Staff Institute
January 5 Monday Residence Halls Open – First Time Freshmen and Transfers arrive – 12:00 noon
January 6 Tuesday Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
January 7 Wednesday Late Registration – Traditional Students   ($50.00 fee) Late Check-In ($50.00 )
January 10 Saturday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop Class – Block IV ONLY
January 16-17 Friday-Saturday Block IV Mid-term Examinations
January 19 Monday Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday
    Classes Suspended
    Offices and Library Closed
January 20 Tuesday Classes Resume
January 23 Friday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop for Spring Semester
January 23-24 Friday-Saturday Block IV Course Evaluations &Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty – Block IV ONLY
January 26 Monday Apply for May Graduation
    No shows will be administratively withdrawn from all classes
February 6 Friday Summer School 2014 Master Schedule Due to Registrar’s Office
February 6-7 Friday-Saturday Block IV Final Examinations
February 11 Wednesday Block IV Grades entered into Self Service by 12:00 p.m.
February 13-14 Friday-Saturday Block V Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
February 17 Tuesday Founders Day
February 20 Friday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop Class – Block V ONLY
February 27 Friday Last Day to Submit Grade Changes for Fall 2013
    Last Day for Removing Incomplete (I) Grades for Fall 2013
February 27 Friday Fall 2015 Master Schedule due to Registrar’s Office ( No Extracurricular Activities)
February 27-28 Friday-Saturday Block V Mid-term Examinations
March 2-6 Monday-Friday Mid-Semester Examinations     (No Extracurricular Activities)
March 5 Thursday Last Day to Apply for May 2013 Graduation
March 5 Thursday Residence Halls Close at 6:00 p.m.
March 9 Monday SUMMER SCHOOL REGISTRATION OPENS
March 9-13 Monday-Friday Spring Break
    Classes Suspended– Block classes meet!
March 15 Sunday Residence Hall opens at 12:00p.m.
March 11 Wednesday Traditional Grades entered into Self Service by 12:00 p.m.
March 12 Thursday Last Day to withdraw from class without GPA penalty –Traditional Students
March 16 Monday Classes Resume
March 16-21 Monday-Saturday Institutional Assessments (General Education, Major Field, Course Evaluations)   ( No Extracurricular Activities)
March 20-21 Friday-Saturday Block V – Final Examinations
March 25 Wednesday Block V Grades entered into Self Service by 12:00 p.m.
March 26 Thursday DECLARE or CHANGE your Major Day
    Non-Academic Units Assessment Training 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
March 27-28 Friday-Saturday Block VI Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
March 30 Monday Advisement/Registration for Fall 2014 & Summer Sessions
April 3 Friday Good Friday
April 3-4 Friday-Saturday Last Day to Register and Add/Drop Class – Block VI ONLY
April 10-11 Friday-Saturday Block VI Midterms/Course Evaluations
April 13 Monday Last day to submit summer school transient forms and supplemental documents to Academic Affairs.
April 13-April 17 Monday-Friday Pre-Examination Week – No Extracurricular Activities
April 14 Tuesday Academic Affairs Awards Ceremony
    Offices/Library Closed
April 17-18 Saturday Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty – Block VI ONLY
April 20-April 25 Monday-Saturday Final Examinations for All Students/Graduates   and Block VI
April 24 Friday Last Day of Class

Residence Halls close at 6:00 p.m.

April 26-April 30 Sunday – Thursday Senior Week
April 27 Monday Senior Final Grades entered into Self Service by 12 noon
May 1 Friday Baccalaureate Services 7:00 p.m.
May 2 Saturday Commencement 10:00 a.m.
May 5 Tuesday Grades entered into Self Service by 12 noon for Traditional Students
May 7-8 Wednesday-Thursday Faculty Institute /Retreat
May 9 Friday Last Day for Faculty

 

Summer 2015 SEMESTER

 

May 4 Monday Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
May 4 Monday Last Day to Register/Add and Drop
May 5 Tuesday Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty

 

No shows will be administratively withdrawn from all classes

May 8-9 Friday-Saturday Block VII Classes and Attendance Documentation Begin
May 15-16 Friday-Saturday Last Day to withdraw without a GPA penalty/Course Evaluations

Block VII ONLY

May 20-21 Wednesday-Thursday Mid-term Examinations
May 22-23 Friday-Saturday Block VII Midterms
May 25 Monday Mid- term Grades entered into Self Service by 12 noon
June 10-11 Wednesday-Thursday Final Examinations
June 12-13 Friday-Saturday Final Examinations
June 15 Monday Grades entered into Self Service by 12 noon

Traditional and Block VII Students